Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: UK Splitboarder needs help with first splitboard choice
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:28 am 

First of all thanks for having a look at this post and for any responses.

I am UK based looking for a first splitboard. I have about 18 years boarding experience and have been touring with my board and snowshoes for the past 5 years. I am an all mountain rider, love the powder but understand that it makes up about 20% of my riding. The rest is trees where I can get them and all the rest of the usual mountain conditions, (Crud, hard pack etc). I usually end up in some steep and narrow couloir where the turn has to be spot or a very long fall will result I avoid pistes as much as possible!!

I am looking for a board that will go uphill ok, be stiff and hold a good edge and perform well in all conditions. From this I think my choice list is now either the Prior Khyber or Prior Spearhead. Am happy to consider others but was trying to keep this brief.

Please can any one with experience of riding either of these let me know what you think of them.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Charlie

Post subject: Re: UK Splitboarder needs help with first splitboard choice
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:45 am 

I think both the khyber and the spearhead are very powder specific. You probably want a board with some taper, but not as much as they have.

Most people like the voile mojo as a balanced do-all board. It's got some powder oriented features but doesn't compromise the other aspects.

Note that I haven't tried any of the three.

Where do you ride?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:04 am 

I agree with nothingmuch on the Mojo, it’s a great all mountain board. And the cost looks good when compared to most other manufacturers.