Post subject: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:20 pm
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:08 pm Posts: 13
I'm new to the splitboard.com forum and i've been pricing splits. i came across a thread for 1stboardmania out of indonesia that has decent prices for 2008 prior khyber split($955 shipped to alaska). i'm wondering if that's the real deal or a "pirated" board?? any ideas?
i've been checking craigs list and doing google searches religiously trying to find my first split setup. if anybody has any leads. i'm 5'10 and 185 lbs. i ride a 160cm board inbounds, so i'm thinking the split should be 165-172cm?
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:05 pm
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:42 am Posts: 2373 Location: California
Welcome--thats a pretty good deal but I'd be skeptical. You should be able to find as good a deal from someone or a North American store if you stay patient. You barely missed a lot of the 2008 clearance deals from REI, Backcountry.com and others. There's plenty of good used boards to be had as well. You'll be stoked on splitting, I can tell you that for sure.
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:15 pm
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:57 pm Posts: 4985 Location: California
Welcome AP,
I saw your post of the backcountryworld site. You're right that you typically size up a little when getting a split since you'll mainly be in powder. You're also right that you typically size down a little when looking at a board like the Khyber. Its sorta confusing.
The reason for sizing down the Khyber is due to the tapered shape. It has so much taper and such a large nose that it makes up for the lack of length.
Hope that helps a little.
As for that site, not sure but I'd agree with eco.
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:06 pm
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:47 am Posts: 3
1stboardmania is a scam. I sent them money via western union, and they just kept my money and sent nothing. They do not reply to my emails and are nothing but scammers. Don't make the mistake of ordering from them.
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:54 pm
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 8:08 pm Posts: 13
sorry to hear about that. i spoke to the rep at prior and she warned me that it was probably a scam, so i ended up buying a prior khyber off of craigs list here in alaska.
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:56 am
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 11:55 am Posts: 869 Location: Wasatch
scam for sure. they are offering voile boards that haven't been in production for at least two seasons. plus they are not a voile dealer so i'm not sure how they would get the gear.
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:15 pm
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:47 am Posts: 3
Quote:
sorry to hear about that. i spoke to the rep at prior and she warned me that it was probably a scam, so i ended up buying a prior khyber off of craigs list here in alaska.
Thanks. Luckily I only sent them $125 as they had told me I could send half up front. I figured it was a scam but was willing to risk the 125. Oh well, hopefully I'll be able to prevent others from making the same mistake.
Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:23 pm
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 6:09 pm Posts: 388 Location: Chamonix, France
As a general rule, unless the source is known to be reputable using western union, money orders, or any similar money transfer online is risky.
This is because it's impossible to trace the transaction, and there are no guarantees whatsoever.
On the other hand, if you use your credit card, that transaction is probably insured and you can cancel it retroactively if you got scammed. It's a hassle, but you can usually get your money back without too much trouble.
Be similarly weary of giving your credit card details to any online store without an SSL certificate (check for a lock icon), and don't email or IM your credit card. An SSL certificate means that the website has been verified by some sort of verification company, and is probably legitimate.
Some card companies also have single use numbers, that you can get online on a per transaction basis, for even more security. This protects your credit card in the event that you bought something at a reputable business, but then their servers were hacked and the card numbers were stolen.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum