Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:20 pm 

I'm new to the splitboard.com forum and i've been pricing splits. i came across a thread for 1stboardmania out of indonesia that has decent prices for 2008 prior khyber split($955 shipped to alaska). i'm wondering if that's the real deal or a "pirated" board?? any ideas?

i've been checking craigs list and doing google searches religiously trying to find my first split setup. if anybody has any leads. i'm 5'10 and 185 lbs. i ride a 160cm board inbounds, so i'm thinking the split should be 165-172cm?

kind regards,
will
alaska

Post subject: Re: Is 1stBoardMania out of Indonesia Legit????
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:05 pm 

Welcome--thats a pretty good deal but I'd be skeptical. You should be able to find as good a deal from someone or a North American store if you stay patient. You barely missed a lot of the 2008 clearance deals from REI, Backcountry.com and others. There's plenty of good used boards to be had as well. You'll be stoked on splitting, I can tell you that for sure. :rock: :guinness:

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:15 pm 

Welcome AP, 8)

I saw your post of the backcountryworld site. You're right that you typically size up a little when getting a split since you'll mainly be in powder. You're also right that you typically size down a little when looking at a board like the Khyber. Its sorta confusing.

The reason for sizing down the Khyber is due to the tapered shape. It has so much taper and such a large nose that it makes up for the lack of length.

Hope that helps a little.

As for that site, not sure but I'd agree with eco.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:48 pm 

hey check out outdoorgearswap.com. Its from mountain equipment coop in canada, but they have some sweet deals on occasion.