Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: First split - thoughts?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:41 pm 

Hey! So, obviously, I'm looking for some advice on my soon-to-be first splitboard w/bindings and whatnot. I have spent most of my snowboarding-life (15yrs) in resorts, usually in the park, but when the pow comes down I try to get as much of it as possible. Been taking a few trips to some local spots with a friend of mine over the last 2 years, and this season I want to spend a lot more time off the slope. In terms of avalanche-training, I took a course 2-3 years back, considering taking another one for refreshment though. Being a student, I never really could invest in all the gear needed (in terms of time spent bc).

Been reading around a lot about what I should go with as a first-time buyer, and the amount of hardware needed sort of surprised me at first (mostly because of the total cost). In any case, I've looked at boards, bindings, read quite a few posts in here, and the following is what I've currently decided on:

Board: NS Prospector 164 (I'm 6', my usual board is a pretty stiff 155 Nitro)
Bindings: Spark R&D Magneto (Light, need something flexy for the trees) w/crampons.
Kit: Voile Universal

I'm assuming I get all the hardware I need for fitting the bindings from the kit + whatever is included with the Magneto? Not too much info on Spark's site.
Oh, and skins. Don't really see any big difference between those I can find, so I guess I can grab whichever.
The remaining stuff (beacon, probe, shovel, pole, etc.) I'll be picking up at local stores.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

Post subject: Re: First split - thoughts?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:28 am 

Is it time for a sticky "my first splitboard" thread offering general rules and concepts to consider in a first split purchase? It might save everyone time and energy.