Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Suggestions on Splitboard/Karakorum Binding size
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:54 pm 

I am looking at getting the LibTech T.Rice Splits w/ the karakoram bindings.
I am sure this topic has been beat to death and i have searched through topics. Most answers i have found fall back to "it depends"

I am 6'-0" and weigh about 165, no gear, probably close to 185 with gear. I have been riding for 15+ years so i'm not a newb, so to speak. Just getting into the splitboard game however.
I cant decide between the 161.5 and the 164.5 Lib Tech.
My current solid sticks are a 161 NS Legacy and a 165 NS Heritage. Majority of my riding is Alaska backcountry (mostly sled access). I hit the resort 3 or 4 times a season.
I found the 165 to be a bit long for me in the steep, windblown conditions, so i fall back to the 161 most of the time. I hit the occasional jumps, but I spend most of my time just freeriding.
Just looking for some suggestions on the board size. I am leaning towards the 164.5 (for float in the powder. i think i would be less likely to bust out the splitboard for crappy conditions and just tote along the 161 instead), but i dont want to get into the same situation as the 165 NS.

The other dilemma is if i should get the Medium or Large bindings. I have a 10.5 boot. The binding size range for Medium is up to 11, and the Large is 11.5 and up. Anyone have some advice as to how these bindings fit?

Post subject: Re: Suggestions on Splitboard/Karakorum Binding size
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:27 pm 

snotroll wrote:
The other dilemma is if i should get the Medium or Large bindings. I have a 10.5 boot. The binding size range for Medium is up to 11, and the Large is 11.5 and up. Anyone have some advice as to how these bindings fit?