Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Seattle-ite new to splitboading-itching to get out!!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:47 pm 

Hi Puget Sound splitboarders,

I'm desperate to get out and do some backcountry runs before the snow is all gone. I just started backcountry boarding last season, but only made it out twice: once with a borrowed splitboard, the other time carrying my regular board on my back (it sucked). But I recently bought a used splitboard and I'm ready to go. I have all the necessary BC gear (beacon, probe, shovel, etc) and have been through Level 1 avy training. I've been snowboarding for about 13 years, so I can handle my own on the slopes. I'm primarily a weekend warrior, unless the conditions are perfect during the week; then I'll call in sick :) Anyone want to get out next weekend, Feb. 28 or March 1? Or even tomorrow (2/21)?! Shoot me a PM if you're interested. Hope to see you guys soon.

Jim

Post subject: Re: Seattle-ite new to splitboading-itching to get out!!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:26 pm 

Jim:

Not that I am one to advocate going solo - but if you are hankering to get some easy turns in, Summit West is closed until Saturday and there is a lot of untapped powder sitting on it - its really cold up there, so the sun might not be baking it too much. I drove by it this morning after doing a little dawn patrol at Hyak and wished I had known what Summit West had looked like (it was dark when I started).

There are already a couple of skin tracks from folks poaching lines, but lots more to be had.

You can't get much easier than skinning from the car up the hill.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:00 pm 

Hey Jim,