Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: mini report, near Donner CA
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:55 am 

although i'm a noob to splitting (went a few times near Grenoble, FR) I finally got my wife to try it out last weekend. we only have one split board so I was on snowshoes (don't worry, I didn't destroy any skin tracks). We headed up to Negro Canyon for some low angle earned turns

barely steep enough to get going!

It wasn't ideal: super sticky snow, low angle and way too many snowmobilers, but it was still awesome and I think she's hooked!!

Post subject: Nice Max...
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:17 am 

I'm still trying to get my wife into the backcountry/split frame of mind. She's a solid intermediate rider, and loves a little powder, but has some trouble on the heavier really deep stuff sometimes...

Anyway, I basically drag her off-piste as much as I can at resorts, exposing her to a lot of different conditions trying to get her more comfy with the idea..

Anything in particular you did to get her out there with you? Her idea, yours? Any avy training, etc? I only have avy gear for myself at this point, but have a second split already that she could use...

Things to do.... Glad to see more couples out there doing it in the woods... So to say...

Hope to be there soon as well....

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:24 am 

it wasn't too hard to get her out there -- she likes being away from the crowds as well... but it was still my idea :)

neither of us has any formal avy training, and i'm hoping to get her interested enough that we can take an avy class together. We also have only one set of avy gear.

hoping to get up there again on saturday. We might try donner ridge this time.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:40 am