Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Splitboarding in Afghanistans Koh-E-Baba Mountains
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:42 pm 

Hey there
This is my first post. Thought I would share a few pictures from a NZAID sponsored Eco Tourism Development project I have been working on for the last 2 months in the Koh-E-Baba mountains of Afghanistan, The Aim of the project is to promote Bamyan province as a winter ski destination and also to train 4 locals to become ski guides. I guide on a spitboard, we had one splitboard donated to our project from a Welshman called Mark, cheers mate! So hopefully at least one guide will become Afghanistan's first splitboard guide! The Koh-E-Baba has a sick amount of terrain that rises up to 5000m, light dry powder, although this season was a low snow year, so combined with very low night time temps, minus 30 at 2500m where we were living, meant some pretty touchy avalanche conditions due to lingering large depth hoar..but their were still lots of options to ride nice lines this year if you utilize the terrain. Bamyan, the base town you ride from is around a 40 min flight from Kabul and feels a million miles away from your pre conceived ideas of Afghanistan, Bayman is laid back, by far the most peaceful area in Afghanistan and home to the Hazara people, an ethnic minority that make up 9% of the population, super cool, on to it people. There is one local company offering guided trips called Rah-e-Abrisham ( Silk Road) run by Gul, an awesome local... A few pictures here on flickr..have not used this before so hopefully works ????????

http://www.flickr.com/photos/69489680@N08/?saved=1