Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New beacon Ortovox 3+ VS Tracker 2
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:20 pm 

So I have been looking to get a new beacon this winter. I have been using an Ortovox X1 for many years now and feel like its time for an upgrade, especially after what this guy says about the X1: http://beaconreviews.com/transceivers/S ... Ortovox_X1

So I have been looking to get the new Ortovox 3+ or the Tracker 2 which is out for it's second yr (I think).

The Tracker 2 seems like it will be a tried and true especially after the success and usability of the original tracker.

The Ortovox looks nice as well and after playing w/ it @ REI seems like it is just as user friendly w/ the addition of better spike ratings and multi-burial scenario usability/flagging/masking. Another cool feature is that it runs on a single AAA battery.

So it may be obvious that I am partial to the 3+ but I am skeptical especially since my original X1 gets such awful reviews and that it’s brand new this yr.

What are all of you splitrippers using and what do you all think about these two.

thanks for your thoughts and price doesn't matter a whole lot since both are currently discounted.

Post subject: Re: New beacon Ortovox 3+ VS Tracker 2
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:57 pm 

I have no experience with the Otrovox.
ibisbiking wrote:
The Tracker 2 seems like it will be a tried and true especially after the success and usability of the original tracker.