Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 3:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Prepping for first day out
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:07 pm 

Hey All,

I am new to both splitboarding and splitboard.com but this place has tons of good info. Here is my first of I am sure many questions...

I bought myself a Prior Khyber 165 this past friday night. I took it out at the resorts (Vail) over the weekend to get used to how it rides. (The thing is absolutely awesome!) Tomorrow morning my buddy and I are heading up for some early, early morning turns (East Portal in the Indian Peaks).

Is there anything that you wish you would have known before your first day splitboarding? I have been on a splitboard once before, and am somewhat comfortable skinning and using the interface. I have read the splitboard 101 stuff, some of the threads, and taken an avy course. Any other nuggets of wisdom you want to share before a gumby's first day out?

Thanks for the advice,
gnubbs

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:15 pm 

Yeah, stay below treeline around East Portal. I triggered a small release being a few feet back on top of on open slope. Stuff is tender right now. Plenty of good stuff to drop in the trees there anyway.

Otherwise, make sure your skins fit and figure out how you want to fold them etc. Don't put your skins on backwards either. I manage to do this once or twice a season it seems like...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:21 pm 

Killclimbz wrote:
Yeah, stay below treeline around East Portal. I triggered a small release being a few feet back on top of on open slope. Stuff is tender right now. Plenty of good stuff to drop in the trees there anyway.

Yeah. We are planning to keep it very low key and conservative with the current snow pack.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:41 pm