Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:20 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Splitboarding with AT guys ?...
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:04 am 

I'm new on this board, and this place rock ... lots of good information on the fascinating world of splitboarding. I don't own a Split yet, but I've been snowboarding in resorts only for almost 10 years now ... more and more I read and hear about splitboarding, more I'm leaning into getting one. My concern here is my friends are AT skiers ... I'm interested to know if it's usualy a big deal to ride with AT skiers on a split ... ? Is it slower, do they usually have to wait more because of the difference in equipement, do you have to do better trail selection because your on a split compare to AT ? ... that kind of stuff ... Since I never tried one, I'm just curious to see if I could be a "drag" being the only one on a split within an AT skiers group ? Thanks in advance for your comments ....

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:49 am 

Yeah. you're definitely going to be slower... Those guys, just have to push a button to go from one to the other, while you have to get out of your bindings, take them off... aww never mind. You know the difference. The real question is, are they cool with letting you ride in your way, or do they give you crap for not fitting into their personal view of the BC world. It's the same as being with skiers inbounds. Either they give you crap for having to stop to get into your bindings after every lift, and make fun of you for hating the flats, or they're good, decent people.

Only you can know if your friends are actually cool or secretly jerks. :twisted:

Shep

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:59 am 

Split is the greatest. Get one. If your friends give you shit. Get new friends.

The little bit of time you spend changing over the split is well worth it.

Post subject: