Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: hey all
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 9:01 am 

hey, im new to splitting...well actually i havent been splitting yet but ive been snowboarding for 9 years and am really starting to get sick of hitting up the resorts. I love getting into the backcountry and so i will mostly likely start splitting next season. I am not too concerned with what board to get yet. However, I am currently studying manufacturing technology at chico state and so im always looking at new designs and methods of manufacturing. It seems to me that there are soo many areas that splitboards could be improved in, that i just want to share them. I like to take different ideas and fit them all together and heres what ive got so far. Ive heard it mentioned on here that the Dupraz D1 would be an incredible split if 1) it wasnt so heavy 2) wasnt so hard to get and expensive. Im really looking foward to riding one as it looks soo sweet! Anyone tried it? tried splitting it? Anyways, I think that shape and flex would be ideal as a split and the could be built with carbon/carbon fiber for less weight.(more expensive, i know) Then as for the base, i think heres something that all splitters, teles, and aters would love and i hope to see it in practical form soon.
http://engineering.dartmouth.edu/thayer ... -engg.html
This technology could mean no more skins and thus why would someone still want to use the voile interface system (voile, keep this in mind :) ) and an interface could be designed where you would never have to lift ur board off the snow at all. I have several ideas in mind and altho they are relatively simple, they are not easy to describe. This could mean changing from split mode to riding mode in 5-10 seconds and i know everyone here would love that. What do you all think is to come in the future of splitboarding?

Porky