Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The Flats... why I gave up snowboarding!!
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:16 pm 

Hey Splitboarders out there- I want some input.

I recently sold my splitboard for a pair of randonee skis for the backcountry- (don't hate on me too much.. read on)..

I am an expert rider and a intermediate skier.. why then would I make the switch? Don't you want to be on top of your game for backcountry riding? I like shredding with my board waaaay more than turning on skis. Then why the switch?

The problem with my splitboard was the flat sections- you know, the ones between downhill stretches? I absolutely resented having to struggle through snow with one foot on the board and one off while my skier friends glided past with mocking faces.

How do you guys deal with such situations?

Has anyone tried to make a telemark turn with the splitboard skis? That is the only viable solution I can think of: after the steeps (and you know it's flattened out) then you just gotta ski down the rest!?!

Let me know what's goin on>

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:52 pm 

stick to skiing...its way better for the flat sections.

:wink:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:44 pm 

but snowboarding is sooooo much better for the steeps.. linking turns on a board is way better!! I wonder if there's some kinda way to make tele turns on the split skis.. so that way I can actually make turns once I take my board apart..

any ideas?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:45 pm 

ski your split through the flats, but better yet, avoid flat sections if possible. ski mode is sort of fun for flat non-tech. sections! they must be really long flats to warrant a switch, IMO.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:50 pm