Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Never Summer Prospector 167W - Heel Drag
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 6:09 pm 

Hello - I am new to splitboarding. I just moved up to a resort town (name withheld so as not to piss anyone off) where the season pass prices are too expensive to justify the mediocrity of the mountain. So I'm stickin' it to the man by hiking for turns. So of course, I dropped what would have been a season pass price on a new splitboard setup.

I have a Never Summer Heritage solid board (166 Wide) and LOVE the ride. So, logically, after reading several posts on this forum that said the Prospector was a good board, and given my affinity for its one-piece brother, I got a Prospector 167 wide, and set it up with Spark Afterburner bindings and skins.

What I didn't realize was the limitations that the Voile pucks place on your ability to move the bindings side-to-side on the board. Sure, you can adjust the insert holes you use to get some front-to-back adjustment. But the only way I can see to adjust the side-to-side is by altering stance angles. I typically ride about +15 degrees in the front and -5 in the rear. On initial setup, I realized that -5 in the rear was going to leave WAY too much heel overhang, so I changed it to -10 in the rear and hoped for the best. I have a size 12 boot, cram my toes in as much as possible, hope the boot linings pack out a little, all to avoid this sort of thing.

I took the board out for its first spin this past weekend. Skins, bindings, climbing - no complaints. Having never dealt with anything but the new Tesla system, I know I have nothing to use as a basis for comparison, but I can sense how easy this new system is compared to the pin systems. And the skins surprised me on how steep I could climb with grip to spare.