Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:17 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
 Post subject: Why do splitboarders ride such long boards?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:04 pm 

With snowboards now becoming overly and overtly rocker'd and less and less cambered, why do we still see people riding 168s, 172s, and even bigger? I'm 6'1" and 165/170 lbs and never have ridden anything bigger than a 160 resort or split. I'm not a complete newbie but I guess I'm pretty much self taught. Should I be sizing up for my split? I always understood that you can pretty much ride the same size no matter what and where you're riding. I get that longer boards provide better float on pow days but who's getting super deep pow days every time they go out into the backcountry? I have a Venture Storm for my (resort) powder days but that thing only comes out when it's deep. And that's only a few times a year.

So, I understand that it always "depends" what the correct size is for any particular rider but why and how do you size your own board(s). Specifically, what size is your resort vs split?

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Why do splitboarders ride such long boards?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:30 am 

JNK wrote:
Specifically, what size is your resort vs split?

My old split: Venture Zephyr 169.
My new split: Prior Spearhead 178.

My resort board for treeruns: Jones Hovercraft 160. (just bought it, don't know yet if I like such short boards)
My resort board: LTB Classic Long 192.

I'm 191cm tall and weigh 78kg. Or 6'3" / 172lbs in the imperial system. (why do US guys actually measure boards and persons in different scale units?)