Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Crampons
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:41 pm 

Im new to splitboarding and just got a Burton 162 S-Series and I was wondering if I HAVE to get crampons. When I have been snowshoes with friends skinning on skis they do not have crampons. Do you think crampons are a necessity? Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Crampons
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 pm 

On firm snow, and especially ice- can be crucial. If its all fresh and deep, not too much need.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:15 am 

Agreed. Just remember, your skiing friends ha a lot more sideways rigidity to dig in those edges then us splitboarders (at least as long as you're using regular snowboard boots). Up here in the land of ice and wind I never split without crampons at least in my backpack.

The feeling of slipping when traversing steep stuff and it's a loong way down is, um, not for me....

Regards,
Trond

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:40 pm 

Me and two two-plank buddies got turned back from a summit in the sierras last year due to a lack of ski crampons. Not a necessity, but a very, very, very nice to have in my opinion.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:36 pm 

Worth having, if for no other reason than peace of mind in sketchy spots. They can also save you lots of energy.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:52 pm 

Are you referring to ski crampons or boot crampons?

You do not need ski crampons, though some people really like them for firm snow when it is too steep to skin without them. But they only work up to a point. I don't tend to carry them unless I know it is just the right conditions and they will benefit me more than the added weight and bulk.

You will need boot crampons if you want to ascend steeper firm or wind blasted snow (an ice axe or whippet as well).