Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Shopping list for backcountry camping
PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 7:42 pm 

I want to get into overnight trips. I'm starting from zero. What would you recommend? Quality and performance matter more than price. Tent, sleeping bag, stove, um? I'm completely new at winter camping... what else do I need. Brand(s)/model(s)?

Thanks in advance.

Post subject: Re: Shopping list for backcountry camping
PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 8:33 pm 

Im pretty new to snow camping as well.

Go to the mec and grab this, lots'a good stuff in there.

I've already kiboshed the tent idea, in favor of a tarp/bivy combo instead, so you can have mine for cheap.

This is my stove, but we'll see what kind of cook times I can get out of it in the sub-zeros.

I think Helsport, and Western Mountaineering are two of the better brands but this is what i've been using as a bag. Its a bit bulky and the zippers suck, but I highly recommend it.

Hopefully others with a bit more experience chime in, i meant to start this thread myself but got lazy. :oops:

Getting any turns in around Fernie yet?
Kananaskis is still pretty sketchy, but the slackcountry around Sunshine isn't looking too terrible.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:45 pm 

dude, wtf is up with that sleeping bag. and is that a naked chic in it?

As far as stoves, cant go wrong with jetboil.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:50 pm 

Here are some of the things I've learned:

There's lot's to do at camp in winter conditions, and for me the key to do things slowly and carefully so that I don't have to repeat anything, and I don't forget anything. In the long run this is a time saver and helps to feel rested and in control instead of tired and overwhelmed. If I take 2 minutes to think about what I need to do for the next 10 and it'll really be 10 and not 30.