Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Video Cameras
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:58 am 

Haven't seen any recent threads...
What are people using? What works best? Are people digging their helmet cams?

Thinking about picking one up this year, most important thing to me is compact/lightweight, good picture, fairly resistant to backcountry abuse and not looking to spend a fortune.

Canon seems to have some good inexpensive options.
Thoughts?
Thanks,
Reefer

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:26 pm 

I'm no expert by any means but we just got back from a trip to Argentina-so hot right now. Helped film for some buddies' upcoming split/ski backcountry movie- Which you all better support :wink: Some of their camera's are a canon gl-2 and a helmet cam which I cant remember the make of. The gl 2 is a super nice camera, cant go wrong. Dont know if it meet's your definition of compact/lightweight though. I'm a big fan of the helmet cam's too. I think they really capture the feeling...unless you got it on cruising down a groomer...then everythings just lame. But tree riding, drops, steeps,etc...all look really nice on a head cam. Make sure you get a remote control for helmet cam's though. Otherwise it could be a pain in the ass to fuddle with all the time. Hope that helps. Maybe the Thrillhead boy's will chime in....

-"Sharkness, everybody!!"

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 8:29 pm 

I spent a long time trying to find the perfect camera for a helmet cam setup, this is what i went with:

Canon Optura S1

as for helmet cams, they are all made by Sony, regardless of who is reselling them. Just get the best resolution you can afford. I went with 480, its ok, but 520 would be better.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 7:30 am