Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 7:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Let's design a one piece hard boot binding
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 11:33 pm 

So I was day dreaming at work a few days ago and was trying to design a one piece hard boot binding in my head. I am not a mechanical engineer, or an engineer of any sort for that matter, so I started simple. The goal is a lighter, lower and stronger binding.

I ride Bomber's on my hard board and my wife has voile slider plates on her Khyber, so my simple mind is trying to combine the bails from my Bomber's to the simple and low slider plate. I found a place here in San Diego that has a 4 dimensional CNC machine that can cut titanium, so I was thinking of having the entire plate made of titanium. Granted Ti is 60% heavier than aluminum (I didn't know this until I started researching), but I figure I can have multiple cut outs like the one in the center of the current Voile slider plate.

Next comes the bails...as Barrows suggest in one of his many posts, if we can use Ti instead of stainless steel, we can both increase the strength and decrease the weight of the bails. The first problem I came up with is the levers. Assuming I scavenged the levers from an old pair of bombers, I would have to put them on the Ti rod as I was bending it, and I don't know if the lever would get in the way of the bender. I am not even sure it is possible for me to bend Ti rod in my garage.