the snowboard.

Here's the top deck that will
eventually get mounted.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 2:23 pm 

WTF??????

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:08 pm 

That's freakin' awesome Mark, you'll have to post some split snoskatin' trip reports. I'm always psyched to see garage projects. I bet the noboarding guys would like to see something like what you've got. http://www.noboard.ca/product.html. Bring it to scrubfest for people to play on. I haven't personally done much for snoskating or noboarding, but it's probably fun like wakeskating or wakesurfing is. Did you make that deck?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 7:49 am 

Yea I've been making ultra wide full concave decks for a couple of years now. With bi deck snowskating control comes from having leverage which is acheived by having the upper deck overhang the lower. So to be able to carve a fullsized snowboard on groomers you need an upperdeck that is a least 13 inches wide and some really fancy footwork. In powder or crud though all you need is tail leverage achieved by having a really long deck. I'm not that familar with noboards other then what I've seen on vids but as I understand it they need really good snowcondtions, any crust or wind blown and it gets pretty hard to handle. The great thing about their set up though is that its ultra light weight. With bidecks we just keep switching out the lower ski to accomodate the changing conditions. The biggest sub deck I've ridden is the libtech doughboy shredder at 6'10', talk about scary, the smallest is a 122 with a 7 1/2 nose and tail, under a 11 x 42 upper deck which incidently was a youth snowboard that I ripped two inches out of the center and reattached it with a laminated wood strip that had inserts in it.