Splitboard.com Forums

The World's first exclusive splitboard discussion forums

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Question about epoxy in T nuts
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:26 pm 

I am making my first DIY split, which will be used as second splitboard for early season riding when its thin and also as a loaner board. I noticed that the threaded holes in the T nuts are exposed and open all the way through. I need to be able to removed the hardware from this board when I want to use my factory split and I’m worried that epoxy will fill these holes from the bottom of the T nut and permanently bond my hardware screws into the insert. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to handle this? Maybe a piece of blue tape covering the hole? Wax or ptex candles to fill the holes and then epoxy on top?

Thanks... this is my first time working with epoxy.

Post subject: Re: Question about epoxy in T nuts
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:58 pm 

Filling with wax is one option, easy to melt out afterwards. I usually just plug them with a variety of the included hardware screws. Never had one stick.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:13 am 

I am nervous about epoxy sticking to the screw so I put a small square of tape over the hole to keep any epoxy out of the threads.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:22 pm 

Don't worry, the epoxy will not stick to your bolts once it has hardened. I have done the tape over the tips, but otherwise you will be fine either way. Make sure the screws are flush on the bottom with the base of the t nut as you want to always be able to screw your pucks down completely.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:49 pm 

Grease your bolts

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:34 pm